If you are involved in a car accident, your claims for medical bills and lost wages must be submitted to your own insurance company first, regardless of who is at fault. Under a state-mandated $10,000 personal injury protection (PIP) policy, your insurance pays the first $10,000 in medical bills and lost wages (excluding your deductible).
If your medical bills and lost wages are more than $10,000, the negligent driver's bodily injury liability insurance covers the remaining costs. Unfortunately, many accident victims discover the at-fault driver is not insured or does not have adequate insurance to cover the balance of your personal injury claim.
The Insurance Research Council (IRC) reports that nearly 23 percent of Florida's drivers are driving without insurance, which ranks Florida as having the fifth-highest percentage of uninsured motorists in the nation.
Florida Underinsured Driver Accident Lawyer
In these cases, you may be able to file an uninsured (UM) or underinsured (UIM) claim with your own insurance company. However, a responsible driver's own insurance company may not be as responsive as one might expect. These profit-motivated companies frequently deny or delay payment of UM and UIM claims.
The experienced attorneys at The Main Law Firm can protect your rights and fight for the compensation you are owed. Our Orlando uninsured motorist claim lawyers offer a no-risk, no-cost consultation in which they review the facts of your case and recommend a legal strategy that will provide you the best opportunity to recover the full amount you are owed.
Call 407-442-3030 or toll free at 877-MAIN-LAW (877-624-6529), or you can email us to schedule an appointment.